Active911 calls to Department Facebook page
  • The word document linked below gives instructions for displaying call information from the Active911 RSS feed to a departmental Facebook page.
    It was written for Benton County, Arkansas departments, but should work for all.

• Ken, that's pretty cool.  Would you mind posting a copy of that to the wiki?
  • I'm not experienced in editing wiki's, but you can post it there if you like.
  • I am trying to do this,but when I use the IFTTT site the url you provide for the RSS gives me this error: 
    Feed has items without valid urls 

What am I missing or doing wrong?  I am following the tutorial that Ken Z shared above to the letter.

• Try placing the RSS URL in your browser and see if you get an rss feed (an xml document) containing call information.  

i.e. replace the xxxx in this url with your newscode,  https://access.active911.com/interface/rss.php?xxxxx  and paste into your browser - you should see an xml document returned.

My guess is you've just activated RSS and have had no calls since doing so, so there is nothing for IFTTT to find.  You may have to wait until you've had a call after setting up your RSS feed then go on and do the IFTTT setup. If this turns out to be the case, let me know and I'll update the document.
  • Thanks for getting back to me Ken,  I put the URL in the browser and I do see call information populate.

We've had Active911 for a few weeks and there is plenty of call info in there, so I am unsure what the issue is. 
  • I had to put a URL in the second box without the default filed in there, so I just pasted a link to our website.

The only problem with this is I would want to filter out specific call types like MURDER and SUICIDE I wouldn't want posted. I can't add the RSS URL to feedrinse because it appears to be invalid, nor can I add it to feedburner as a way to get it into feedrinse.... or maybe they don't support https....